Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: HAM: Drummond Island Repeater Project

Default HAM: Drummond Island Repeater Project

Many of us hams at DOA this year discussed the need for a repeater on the island.

Dave (N8IT) was going to do some checking on towers (existing) and locations, Dan Smith (WG8A) and I (KD8OOL) are commited to try and figure out a way to get this done.

I'm posting here to guage interest and to garner support. Being a newbie myself I'm pretty confident that I am not the right person to head this up, I am hoping that a more experienced ham will jump on board and help out. I know Dave is very knowledgable in this area, but I'm not sure if he wants to head this up or not, we didn't didn't discuss beyond the need for a location study and the potential use of an existing but abandoned tower on Channel road.

It was pretty cool to finally use the 2m out on the trail. The repeater in Pickford is just too far to be of much use, time to get something going on the island!

Volunteers, ideas, thoughtss, etc. ?

I wonder if it would be worth talking with the DI Fire & Rescue guys about a joint venture? They recently picked up a new quad with tracks to get to remote parts of the island quicker. They may need/want better radio coverage for the areas that cell phone coverage is bad.
    75 Wagoneer : 01 TJ : 06 Chevy 2500HD 4x4

I Agree that I think there is a need for a repeater on the island that can be hit from the main land to marble head
    WG8A

MUD SWEAT AND GEARS 4X4 CLUB MEMBER

GLFWDA Member GLFWDA Member Greenway's Avatar
    Blog Entries

We certainly could have used it.

GLFWDA Member GLFWDA Member

The fire and rescue guys are on a State/Fed Installed repeater. That Tower is Off Limits to Civilians. There's the Cable. "Sunrise Communications" Someone could contact them... There is also the ATT cell phone tower. I know that Pat Kelly owns one of the highest spots on the Island... actually not far from the campground. I suggest starting with him.