PDA

View Full Version : Steering Box

CovertOps
March 6th, 2005, 09:15 PM
So, I have a question. I just took my jeep for a ride after 2 weeks of sitting while I caught up on my house work... Painting, oh how I love painting. Anyway, I noticed that the steering box is leaking. Seems to be from the top where the steering shaft enters the box. I am not a mechanic, but I can turn a wrench. Is this the first sign of failure? Is there a seal here that just needs to be replaced? Anyone have any thoughts?

Mudgoer
March 7th, 2005, 04:06 AM
Yes, there is a bearing and seal there. You can get a replacement seal kit at parts stores for $20 - $30. A rebuilt unit about $200.

Rick

Guest_CovertOps_*
March 7th, 2005, 08:38 AM
Originally posted by Mudgoer@Mar 7 2005, 04:06 AM
Yes, there is a bearing and seal there. You can get a replacement seal kit at parts stores for $20 - $30. A rebuilt unit about $200.

Rick
<div align="right">4436
[/quote]

So I started my research and I think I might go with a rebuilt unit from PSC down in texas. I just need to decide if I want to go with an upgrade or an OE. Maybe I will go the seal route now that I know that there is that option. Any special tools needed to replace the seal?

March 7th, 2005, 04:29 PM
Mine started to leak last fall, but I put some Lucas Oil, stop leak for Power Steering and it stopped after about 1 week of use.

I planned on upgrading to another stronger box, but not yet. If you search around on Pirate4x4, they have direct bolt in models that some guys use that have larger bores etc... stronger boxes.

I&#39;m steering box stupid right now, I will start my searching sometime this month hopefully and be able to talk about it a bit better :D

Good Luck&#33;

Lucas

lgottler
March 7th, 2005, 09:07 PM
Cool, I didn&#39;t know you could post as a guest&#33; That was me above if there is any confusion :D

Lucas

yogi
March 9th, 2005, 08:28 AM