PDA

View Full Version : ELECTRO NERDS PLZ HELP OUT



Bult4mud
January 19th, 2007, 01:27 AM
trying to figure out if i can do a PIMP MY TJ i wanna run my GPS to a larger say 4" or 6" flip down monitor and just wondered if that was possible of if i should just buy a bigger GPS and block up more dash room.

http://www.cbrack.com/modified.htm
I was thinking something like this but not sure if it is possible.... any help would be awsome

GerkTJ
January 19th, 2007, 10:35 AM
check this out: http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.ph...p;highlight=gps (http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=31663&highlight=gps)
get a hold of Muddypaws he is doing a mounted lap top in his jeep.




quote name='Bult4mud' date='Jan 18 2007, 09:27 PM' post='21597']
trying to figure out if i can do a PIMP MY TJ i wanna run my GPS to a larger say 4" or 6" flip down monitor and just wondered if that was possible of if i should just buy a bigger GPS and block up more dash room.

http://www.cbrack.com/modified.htm
I was thinking something like this but not sure if it is possible.... any help would be awsome
[/quote]

95geo
January 19th, 2007, 01:19 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Bult4mud &#064; Jan 19 2007, 12&#58;27 AM) 21597</div>

trying to figure out if i can do a PIMP MY TJ i wanna run my GPS to a larger say 4" or 6" flip down monitor and just wondered if that was possible of if i should just buy a bigger GPS and block up more dash room.

http://www.cbrack.com/modified.htm
I was thinking something like this but not sure if it is possible.... any help would be awsome
[/b]

you would need to see if the gps has any sort of video out puts on it. keep in mind that it would only be a display and you would still have to go back to the gps to push the buttons.

Bult4mud
January 19th, 2007, 05:01 PM
The only out put it has is a USB i know it would be only a display but some of these damn units are too small to see on the dash

95geo
January 19th, 2007, 08:26 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Bult4mud &#064; Jan 19 2007, 04&#58;01 PM) 21617</div>

The only out put it has is a USB i know it would be only a display but some of these damn units are too small to see on the dash
[/b]

my bet is that you would need software to use the usb to send out the screen shot.... and im not sure if it even exists..... cough up the cash and get a nice one. do it right, do it once. cheaper in the long run.

lgottler
January 20th, 2007, 11:09 AM
I&#39;ve been looking at using the Tablet PC&#39;s to run my Garmin MapSource software and just hookup my current GPS and use the software to do realtime mapping. MuddyPaws I think had the link to one. About 200 bucks I&#39;m guessing could get you something that would run it, speed unknown&#33;

My only issue right now would be weather. I&#39;d need it to resist mud and water spray and shock. I&#39;m thinking removing my radio and modifying the dash a bit to make it look like a Nav system.....

JerryD
January 20th, 2007, 11:43 AM
A laptop in an OR environment can be a major pain unless you get one of those "durable, extreme-duty" types. The hinge alone would make me question using it. When I first saw the those mini tablets I thought they may hold possibilities. I haven&#39;t actually tried one tho. Will they only accept inputs from the stylus? If sow, I&#39;d rather go a different route. I&#39;ve toyed with the idea of putting in a carputer utilizing a 7" or 8" lilliput (touchscreen) monitor. The biggest concern for me on that point is the hard drive. Solid-state flash drives may be the ticket but a couple of those would probably be worth more than the entire Scout&#33;

Here&#39;s (http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=80695&) what a guy did in his wrangler on MP3Car.com (http://www.mp3car.com)

a couple of pics

http://members.cox.net/djdrewjunk/jeeputerpics/tbtsportbar0038.jpg

He mentions that he uses the non-touch screen version, but it&#39;s my understanding the the newer screens are much brighter. (Buyer beware ;) )

Here&#39;s a shot of OziExplorer for those unfamiliar

http://members.cox.net/djdrewjunk/jeeputerpics/oziscreenshot.jpg

One thing about his install I DON&#39;T like is the mounting of components on the floor. This guy mentions possibly placing it in a Tuffy console for water resistance. Hafta consider that option.

MuddyPaws
January 20th, 2007, 05:43 PM
If your GPS doesn&#39;t have video out, it won&#39;t work to send it to a regular screen. USB does not support direct video out.

I am using a Panasonic Toughbook. No worries about the hard drive being tough enough or the hinges on the screen being strong enough. Touchscreen...also interfaced with the stereo system.

http://eup.k12.mi.us/~tstrader/jeep/laptop-mount/8.jpg

http://eup.k12.mi.us/~tstrader/jeep/laptop-mount/laptop-screen/day-1.jpg

http://eup.k12.mi.us/~tstrader/jeep/laptop-mount/laptop-screen/gps.jpg

GerkTJ
January 20th, 2007, 10:06 PM
so I&#39;m looking at my Garmin Etrex Legend C and all I&#39;m seeing is the USB outlet. Does that mean I&#39;m screwed if I wanted to hook it up to a laptop?

Jeeperz-Creeperz
January 20th, 2007, 10:23 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(GerkTJ &#064; Jan 20 2007, 09&#58;06 PM) 21637</div>

so I&#39;m looking at my Garmin Etrex Legend C and all I&#39;m seeing is the USB outlet. Does that mean I&#39;m screwed if I wanted to hook it up to a laptop?
[/b]
Not at all. You can hook it up to the laptop, but you can&#39;t hook it up to a video screen on it&#39;s own.

GreyBeard
January 20th, 2007, 10:29 PM
The GPS sends the position signal to the laptop over the communication port. USB, RS-232, whatever. You have to be running some mapping software with "moving map" capability on the laptop.
Some of the programs that support "moving map" are Microsoft Streets & Trips, Garmin&#39;s Mapsource, DeLorme Topo, OziExplorer, etc.
Many laptops also have the availability to just do a configuration setting and flip the display 180 degrees (upside down)

I find the OziExplorer is the best software for real off road usage, but the data is up to you. There is no map with it, but you can scan in maps. Getting the map there can be a pain.
DeLorme Topo has great data and works pretty well, so that is what I really use most of the time.

There is nothing like running a real laptop connected to your GPS. The GPS just provides the location and speed. The laptop provides all the display and detail you could want, along with zoom capabilities and plenty of capacity for data logging.

GreyBeard
January 20th, 2007, 11:03 PM
Hey Muddy Paws,

How do you fasten the laptop upside down?
Does the ToughBook have threaded openings on the bottom to use?

My new Dell Inspiron E1405 doesn&#39;t have any way to really grab onto it from the bottom. It looks like I&#39;ll have to make some brackets with fingers to hold it and add a nylon strap as a safety.

I&#39;d been using one of those Epitome mounts from A2ZSolutions. It is very well made, attaches readily under the seat bolts, and it provides power and everything. The only problem is it really is in the way. Hanging down from the top would be much better.

Bult4mud
January 20th, 2007, 11:16 PM
I keep thinking about getting a 276 but ive got lockers, Dirtbike exahust,guns,and goggles to buy so i keep putting off the new GPS although i did just get a new Etrex legend cx

lgottler
January 20th, 2007, 11:37 PM
Perfect Ebay Find for Large Screen GPS (http://cgi.ebay.com/Rectangular-reading-magnifying-glass-5x-magnification_W0QQitemZ150081982557QQihZ005QQcateg oryZ42337QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

I&#39;m doing this. Ha&#33; Under 20 bucks and some duct tape, I can get a large screen for my GPS.

MuddyPaws
January 21st, 2007, 12:49 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(lgottler &#064; Jan 20 2007, 10&#58;37 PM) 21642</div>

Perfect Ebay Find for Large Screen GPS (http://cgi.ebay.com/Rectangular-reading-magnifying-glass-5x-magnification_W0QQitemZ150081982557QQihZ005QQcateg oryZ42337QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

I&#39;m doing this. Ha&#33; Under 20 bucks and some duct tape, I can get a large screen for my GPS.
[/b]



:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(GreyBeard &#064; Jan 20 2007, 10&#58;03 PM) 21640</div>

Hey Muddy Paws,

How do you fasten the laptop upside down?
Does the ToughBook have threaded openings on the bottom to use?

My new Dell Inspiron E1405 doesn&#39;t have any way to really grab onto it from the bottom. It looks like I&#39;ll have to make some brackets with fingers to hold it and add a nylon strap as a safety.

I&#39;d been using one of those Epitome mounts from A2ZSolutions. It is very well made, attaches readily under the seat bolts, and it provides power and everything. The only problem is it really is in the way. Hanging down from the top would be much better.
[/b]

I&#39;m going to post a new thread about my setup.

Does anyone know if there is a TOPO North America? I would like to get delorme topo but I think they only have it for the U.S. and not Canada.

GreyBeard
January 21st, 2007, 05:52 PM
DeLorme does not have topo for North America or Canada, just U.S.
Garmin, however, does have a MapSource for Canada. And you should be able to use nRoute with any MapSource product to provide the real time capability of moving map. (nRoute is a free download from Garmin. Works with MapSource content and Garmin GPS units)

There is a place in Toronto called Federal Publications, Inc that sells topo data and software. Since they list OziExplorer as one of the programs that they sell, they must have some data that Ozi can read. You can find them and their topo information at
http://www.fedpubs.com/maps.htm

Fugawi also has Canadian coverage.
I&#39;ve never used Fugawi, but the impression I have is that it might be the next best thing after Ozi for off pavement automotive recreation.

MuddyPaws
January 21st, 2007, 07:06 PM
130 for ozi then another 160 for ontario maps, geeze this gets pricy...maybe i&#39;ll stick with MS Streets and Trips. :lmao:

Then again...I am a geek....hmmm.....what can I sell on ebay now? :D

GreyBeard
January 21st, 2007, 08:02 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(MuddyPaws &#064; Jan 21 2007, 06&#58;06 PM) 21671</div>

130 for ozi then another 160 for ontario maps, geeze this gets pricy...maybe i&#39;ll stick with MS Streets and Trips. :lmao:

Then again...I am a geek....hmmm.....what can I sell on ebay now? :D
[/b]

NO NO NO
Don&#39;t pay that kind of money for Ozi.
Try it out with the free downloads and then buy it directly from the developer for &#036;85 if you like it.
www.oziexplorer.com (http://www.oziexplorer.com)
That&#39;s where you get the free trial and demo versions, and then if you pay the money, you get an unlock code to lift the restrictions on the product you already have loaded.