PDA

View Full Version : Axle Ratios

jsawduste
August 29th, 2006, 04:52 PM
Right now I am in process of updating my 4 cyl. YJ to 8.8 rear and D44 front.

Other then a few trips to Silver Lake all my wheeling has been in the St.Helen area.

Here are the details.

4cly./manual trans for now. A SBC/4500/Atlas in the new year.

33x13.50 tires. Someday 35/7/8`s

Asking for some advice on ratio selection. Simply because I am not familar with say Drummond Island, or Gitchee Gummee etc.

Do I want a low 5.13 or perhaps a 4.88 or ??? Again based on some of the other areas within the State the grpup wheels in.

Thanks

MuddyPaws
August 29th, 2006, 06:25 PM
I'm no expert but with a SBC and an atlas you would be fine for most things with 4:11's rolling on 35's. It really depends on how you want your axle ratio to effect other areas of driving. I mean driving down the highway with ultra low gears will put the rpm up higher and you lose fuel economy...but off road the lower gears are nice. I know I wish I had a 4th gear to get into on my SBC and th350 automatic in my YJ when I am on the road.

Some say the lower the better but most of us have to keep some kind of streetability. That's why 4:1 conversions and atlas t-cases are so nice. You can keep a little higher gear, but still have a deeper low to hop into when you need it. Sometimes wheel speed is your friend...depends on what you are going for. Rock...lower is better, gives you far more control....deep sticky mud and you might really want the tires going. I have seen super buggies that are built for crawling just get burried in the mud because the wheels don't spin enough to clean out, and I have seen mud built rigs that don't have enough on the low end to turn the tires slow enough to offer control on the rocks and they smash and bash their way around going far too fast for the rocks.

So basicly...I can't help after typing all this... :ahhh:

jsawduste
August 29th, 2006, 08:13 PM