PDA

View Full Version : GPS

kc8twl
March 3rd, 2006, 11:26 PM
I am new to the world of GPS. I am looking for a handheld unit that I can use for off road trail riding, and also for hunting. I am looking to stay on the lower end of the price scale. I was looking at possibly the Megallen eXporist 200. Any and All suggestion are welcome. Thanks! KC8TWL aka. Chris.

joe_jeep
March 4th, 2006, 12:19 AM
ya i always wanted a gps , but i know diily poo about em! whats a good unit and whats it gonna cost me??

WhiteRhino
March 4th, 2006, 07:15 AM
Almost everyone on GL is using the Garmins. Kinda nice since we can share info. There are a large range of units available. In my book, getting a low priced one only makes you wish you had bought a better one. You want one that will allow downloading of both street and topo maps. Also, you need to be able to upload and download your tracks. (bread crumbs to some)

You can get into all this for as little as $300. Or you can spend over $1000

Checkout the Garmin V at 4x4books.com

Jarhead
March 4th, 2006, 07:38 AM
I use the Garmin V also. It does everything Jim mentions, so it does everything I need.

joe_jeep
March 5th, 2006, 01:29 AM
cool thx. so if i plug mine into another members i can download the drummond trails from his memory?? that would be cool, mabey west branch too. i gotta get one!!

WhiteRhino
March 5th, 2006, 07:47 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(joe_jeep &#064; Mar 5 2006, 01&#58;29 AM) 11487</div>

cool thx. so if i plug mine into another members i can download the drummond trails from his memory?? that would be cool, mabey west branch too. i gotta get one&#33;&#33;
[/b]

No, it&#39;s not that easy. All file transfers are from gps to computer. So, you would have to get a copy of the tracks from someone else, & then download them yourself. Or hook up to their computer.

RockyTop
March 5th, 2006, 08:08 AM