View Full Version : well joe kinda beat me to it TIRE questions

Bult4mud
February 12th, 2006, 07:13 PM
What do you feel are the best tires for general wheelin, and driving ect

I wheel all in michigan so far and i drive my rig to the trail head, I run 35 inch trxus right now and i love them but they are getting a lil worn soo im considering new tires

35 inch trxus
"" SSR's
36" Irok radials
35" Krawlers

whadda think and why

WhiteRhino
February 12th, 2006, 07:27 PM
I have no experience with the Trxus so no comment.
I have seen some vehicles do really poorly with Swampers and others perform really well. I know the SSR's do really well & maybe the ones that struggled were standard swampers. Others will comment better than me.

I have seen Iroks perform really well from 36" up to the 39.5's. I think they were all the bias rather than radials. For my book, they are a great all around tire. The only question is how well they wear on the road.

I have 35" Krawlers. They have worked well in just about all conditions. I have to admit that they are no better in sand than Ironman's ssr's or 95geo's Iroks. They clean out really well in the mud. I have over 2 years on them with very little tread wear but I trailer to the trails. They are heavy and expensive. Would I buy them again? Since the Iroks were not out at the time I bough them, if looking back, I would buy them again. Now, I would consider Iroks.

It all comes down to a personal opinion.

JohnnyJ
February 12th, 2006, 07:54 PM
To Jim's comment: I covered a lot of trails when my TJ was on 33 Swampers, and Haines ran his 38 Swampers for years and it did great, too. Bother were bias tires, and neither were a good road tire.

I don't have any experience with the tires on the list, but I know my pocket book would not like burning through a set of Krawlers with road driving. For Jim's setup where he trailers, I think they are sweet. I've been impressed the times I've seen him run.